Changes

I'm going back to Sweden in about a week to spend Christmas with my mum and sister. So after 1 month and 20ish days in London, I thought it'd be interesting to reflect on some changes I've noticed in myself since arriving here.

1. I think the greatest change is that I've become a lot more outgoing. Well, actually, I think I've just become more myself around strangers, because I'm rather outgoing beneath my surface of shyness and reservedness (that a word?). Also, that shyness around strangers is much less now. It's so much easier to interact with strangers, and I hardly feel like I need to make an immense effort to interact with them like I did before. In the beginning, arriving at work, I'd always be afraid I wouldn't know anyone there. Nowadays I hardly care about that, because I'll end up getting to know a few more people by the end of the night (including mixing up their names and backgrounds, e.g. a Kate and a Katee studying linguistics and translation). I love chatting to strangers, I love getting to know someone new and getting to know their background and path of life, I love their impressed reaction when I tell them I've just moved here from Sweden a month ago, I love joking and being myself around them. I've even improved my flirting skills, because all the porters at work are young males, and I get along with a few of them, and it's great fun..!

2. Another noticable change is a growth of muscle in my left arm from carrying trays loaded with heavy stuff at work.

3. I've become more independent. I do and sort everything by myself out. Make phone calls, sign contracts, make arrangements, make my own judgments etc.

4. Living with my boyfriend for almost a month, he's really grown on me. Living without him now, I realise what a comfort he's been throughout my life in London. He always takes care of me when I myself can't even be bothered to. He does these little things that make me smile, like buys me brownies (a definite way to win my heart, if any guys want to compete, haha). He's great. I'm happy with him, I think.

5. I daresay there is a sliiiight improvement in my cooking skills! I can now make salmon for myself which I enjoy eating, yum! I also made chicken soup and fish soup!

Hmm, looking at this list, London has been a positive experience. All worth it, yeah?

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0