Quirky London Details #8

Well, what I'm about to show you is not exactly a quirky detail, but it was such a delightful surprise to discover the detail that it deserves a place in my Quirky Details Series. Yesterday, I was walking along Oxford Street doing the last bit of my Christmas shopping. Holy shit, it was so effing crowded there. Usually I never complain about crowds, because I like lively, crowded places. But yesterday, I was in a hurry to buy some things there in order to craft my mum's Christmas gift, which would take ages to craft, so I desperately needed to get those materials quickly. I realised as I was trying to snake my way through gaps of people with 3 additional bags on me, that the faster I tried to move, the greater the likelihood of bumping into someone. In the end, I figured it was probably going to take an equally long time to reach my destination regardless of my tactic of slowly moving along forward in harmony with the crowd or bumping my way through everyone, so I decided to move along the crowd.

Since I was strolling so slowly, I noticed this tiny alley way that led off from Oxford Street. It was so tiny in comparison to the wide Oxford Street that most people just walked past it without noticing it. But the alley was absolutely beautiful! Despite its smallness compared to Oxford Street, it had much prettier Christmas lightings!


The entrance of the alley


This photo doesn't do the lights justice. The green lights were so much more greener and lit up the entire side of the building it was hung beside. These lights run across the entire length of the alley, in different colours, like an illuminating rainbow!


Sort of like that, but 100000 times more colourful and beautiful.

On my way home, I took the tube back. There was no way I was going to walk back to where I came from through that crowd again. At the entrance to the tube station, there were so many people that wanted to go down that it was causing a freaking queue to get into the station. To make things even more exciting, there was an old lady standing right beside the queue, yelling "You will all be damned to a life in hell if you don't accept God!!" I swear everyone was fighting down the urge to stick their middle finger in her direction.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0