Summary, month 1 - Work

The time is 03:34 in the wee hours of the morning, and I have just gotten back from work from an 11 hour shift. I'm doing an extremely stupid thing right now, writing here instead of sleeping as I need to wake up at 09:50 for my next shift, which is going to be a 12 hour one. Tomorrow morning when my alarm goes WAH WAH at exactly 09:50, I will regret my ass off for doing this. Oh shit, I can hear birds chipping outside my window. Wait, that's weird, there are birds at this time of the year?

I have never ever been this effing tired from work before in my life. I've started to "conserve energy" for my work shifts (I sound like a hibernating mammal). I used to walk a lot everywhere, but now, I take the bus or tube everywhere to conserve energy for hours of standing and walking and climbing the stairs, and when things get out of control and hectic, running and racing across venues. When I get home, my feet and legs ache, and all I want to do is sit, or lay down, or be in any position that does not involve activating any parts of my lower limbs.

The work is not only tiring, but also hard, especially because things get so hectic. When we carry plates out to the dining guests, the plates are so hot that you it causes you to activate your pull-hand-away reflex, but you stop yourself in the middle of it, because you realise you will be in deep shit with the chefs if you drop that plate of food. While clearing plates away, you are constantly in the risk of dropping the plates with leftover food on top of the guests' suits and dresses, because balancing 10 plates on your hands with leftover bones and crap gets pretty damn heavy.

Despite all these things, so far, I love my work, because it's very unpredictable and dymnamic. I love the fact that when I turn up at work, there are 50 faces of colleagues I have never met before. Out of those 50, there're always a few that I get along with, and get to know while we work throughout the night. I've met so many interesting and awesome people through Esprit, and it's just great! I also love the fact that we all work as a team, we all have each other's backs. I also love the fact that we always get allocated different tasks for each shift, so that we always learn to do something new. I also love the fact that at each event there are different guests, which means you always meet some weird and cool and completely awesome guests. The BEST part though is the fact that we get a lot of good food, hihihi :) We get the same food as the guests, which means lamb and goose and all kinds of fancy stuff with fancy desserts that I cannot pronounce the name of.

I really like my work, and I'm mighty glad I got this job. Yes, I'm dead tired, and yes, I do meet rude guests and encounter lazy colleagues who make me want to shove my tray of glass beer bottles up their butts when they sit around watching me work and don't do a damn thing themselves. But it's all worth it. And the time is now 04:12, and I really need to go to bed to start conserving energy. Good night!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0