A Good Year

There's only about 10 days left of 2009. That's so freaking shocking, isn't it? Where'd the year disappear to? The same questions we ponder about year after year. I thought I'd do a bit of a year summary like everyone does on their blogs, but I'm doing it 10 days in advance, because I have a lot of time now, something I probably won't have a lot of on actual new year's (and to be not like everyone else, teehee).

I remember vaguely that at the end of 2008, I experienced a really frustrating time due to various reasons. I really wanted to get out of Sweden, do something new and unpredictable, be in a new environment with new people in the new year. Because I had such a short time to arrange everything, I decided I was going to do some au pairing. It's a fairly quick process to find a family, sign the contract and just fly away where long-term accommodation is already organised. So I found a nice family in Nottingham, and flew over there on the 17th of January 2009. I spent almost 6 months with them, and it was a good experience. I not only learned how to change nappies and bribe kids with sweets, but probably more importantly that kids are a freaking big responsibility. I also learned and improved a lot of other things, like communication, interaction, independence etc. During this time, I also met my boyfriend in London, and I spent most of my weekends with him in his halls at university. Nottingham was such a relaxing (excluding the kids part) and chill period, which was really nice to have. Eventually, by June though I started to get bored of what I was doing, and by the end of June I went back to Sweden.

Back in Sweden, I had to start applying for universities and do all those entrance exams and write applications and personal statements and all that crap. This period was kind of hard, because I was thousands of miles apart from my boyfriend, and my mom pressured me with all that university stuff. It's understandable though, because I had to take another gap year as I didn't get any offers from the universities I applied to for the 2009-entry. My boyfriend had to face some really bad family issues too, and  lots of other reasons made it generally a relatively low period. The only thing I looked forward to and motivated me was 1) meeting my boyfriend again and 2) Moving to London. Moving to London had been on my mind for a while then, not only because my boyfriend would be in London, but I wanted to do something different and take a risk (again) before commencing on my medicine studies in 2010 (provided that I get offers this year).

So finally, after my last exams for med-school at the end of October, and after lots of convincing my parents that I will study in London for further med-school admissions exams and not forget about my university applications, and that I won't die in London, they eventually let me go off to London. And from here onwards, my life has been documented through my blog.

Honestly, 2009 has been an awesome year. Not in the sense that everything has been great and happy, more in the sense that it's been a fulfilling and satisfying year. I can look back and say I lived life. To me, living life means doing and experiencing things you never did before, experiencing the dips and peaks, but not regretting anything. I really, really hope 2010 will be an equally exciting and unpredictable year, where in a year's time I will be writing "I can look back and say I lived life" again.

Thanks for a good year everyone! Happy new year (in advance)!!!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0