Employment!

First of all, let me just annouce that: I have gotten a job! YEEPEEE!! It's a job for Esprit (pronounced Espreee, no t!), a company that provides catering and technical service etc. to events that take place primarily in London. So basically my job would be setting up tables, waiting guests at events with wine, champagne, little food on toothpicks, food, cakes, coffee, and clearing off tables. There're so many rules to waiting people, like you have to pour liquid from the right shoulder of the guest, but serve food from the er..left? See, there were too many rules, I can't even remember the basic ones. Yesterday, I went to the company's traning and assessment, and it was rather weird. They taught us how to carry plates and stuff, and told us we would not be assessed on our performance, because it's only our first time. But at the end of the whole thing, they said that they'd let us know within 24 hours who was successful based on the training and assessment today. So everyone was left clueless wondering exactly the same thing: What on earth did they base their assessment on?? I'm glad I got this job though, because I am going to book myself on superduper cool events, like film premieres and celebrity and royal people birthdays and befriend them!!! I know the job is probably not as glamourous as I now imagine it to be, and I won't be allowed to befriend the VIPs. I know there will be a lot of hard work and I will end up in tears at times, but I think it will be worth it.

Oh, and for anyone wondering about the TGI Friday's trial, well, I have no idea myself how that went. I haven't heard back from that "find-your-inner-Friday's-person" person, so shrug shrug. I'd just like to mention though that all the Friday's staff was soo sweet and helpful to me, probably because they see their past trial selves in me..! I also went to two interviews today, even though I knew I got that the Esprit job. These were in cute little cafes (with IRRESISTABLE cakes), and they haven't offered me anything yet, but even if they do, I would prefer to stay at Esprit. I don't think I can bare the thought of exchanging waiting the queen to waiting tourists and lcoals (no offence to tourists and locals though)!

So now all that remains is signing up and reading some Esprit documents, and then by next week, I will hopefully have done my first shift (which probably also means I will have served from the wrong side of the guest and completely messed up the serving order, eek!).


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0