Gradually coming out of my little shell

I've always been shy, and I find it very hard to be myself around people. The biggest problem is when I first meet people, I feel so uncomfortable that I don't talk much which makes me appear to be quiet, reserved, unsocial, and sometimes even unfriendly (or so I've been told..!). It makes me unhappy that that's how I come across to people, because that really is not who I am at all.

Prior to arriving in London, I told myself that London would be a perfect opportunity to expose myself to new people all the time and practice to eliminate the shyness I feel around them. Since my arrival, I've probably been exposed to 100s of new people, and everytime I shook hands with one of them, I'd remind myself to be myself, be open, and be socialable.

With new people, I find it hard to joke, to voice my opinion, and to tell a story of an incident or event that happened. I guess I'm particularly afraid that the person would find me weird and reject interacting with me before even giving me a chance to "prove" that I am a likeable person.

Since arriving in London, thanks to interviews and assessments and things that are based on first impressions, I have (very slowly) been coming out of my shell. I dare myself to make jokes or tell an interesting story of something that happened to not appear to be shy and dull to employers. I've told myself that if people don't like who you are, then just move on and find someone who will.

This is only the very beginning of eliminating that shyness I feel, because I do still feel immensely shy around strangers. But I'm partly out of my shell now, and it's just to keep on moving and practicing. I know I can do it.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0