The Ultimate List

So I think it's come to the point where I have dwelled in London for a long enough time to make a preliminary list of things I like and don't like about London: The Ultimate List!

Things I absolutely love:
1. Cheap bananas!
2. Camden Town
3. So many great musicals, although I haven't watched any because they are far too expensive for my wallet
4. London Underground (a love-hate relationship [see #4 below], how would we travel anywhere without it, the bus system is out of question unless you intentionally want to get late)
5. Urban Outfitters, gosh I could live in there!
6. So many yummy food places (also a bad thing, see #7 below)
7. The contrasts of the city, in terms of the architecture, people, culture, general atmosphere, which is probably the thing I love about London the most
8. The vastness of the city, you can drive and drive in the city (except not literally drive and drive, more like drive and stoooooop, and drive, and stuck, oh how lovely London traffic flows), and the city seems neverending
9. London is the pathway to Hogwarts, King's Cross, platform 9 3/4!

Things I love less: (note: the list is missing a 1. and starts with 2. because I erased 1. and I am too lazy to alter all the following numbers)
2. Strangers that call me "love" or "sweetheart" or "darling", especially older men
3. Mice and cockroaches in flats
4. London Underground (too loud and too old)
5. TOO many Starbucks, why aren't there more Urban Outfitters or Topshops?!
6. Tourists that flood central areas when I am in a hurry to get somewhere (it's freaking impossible to move quicker than 0.5m/s in Oxford Circus)
7. Too many good food places that could easily cause a huge weight gain, grr! Especially cafes that display their cakes and cookies in the windows, that should be freaking illegal!
8. No genuine nature, only artificial places like Hyde Park
9. The driving on the right side thing, I'm always in a fatal risk when crossing the road because I STILL look on the wrong side
10. Too many ambulances. On average, there's literally probably an ambulance that passes by every 5-10 mins outside the window and I can hear them as if they're right in front of me (hello tinnitus!)
11. Recycling things seems to be an alien concept here. I currently live with a friend who never recycles anything, and whenever I throw away cans or paper or cardboard boxes, you have no idea how immense the guilt is!


Oh no, I have more things in the hate list than the love list. But of one thing I am certain: London is one of my top favourite places in the world, and all the mice and cockroaches and Starbucks and cookies and ambulances won't scare me away!


Kommentarer
Postat av: Mr Cozypants

Cheap bananas... självklart :P

2009-12-04 @ 13:34:01

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0