The Uncertainty Principles

During the past week and a half I have been hunting my ass off for a room to rent in a house- or flatshare. I've been to like 15 viewings all over zone 2 London - north, west, south, east. Looking back in retrospect, it's been a great way to explore and familiarize myself with London (especially the confusing London underground system). My brief experience and summary of London regions: north London = lots of Jewish quarters, especially beyond zone 2: lots of men wearing hats with funny beard constructions. North London is the cutest region, feels like little villages puzzled together; east London = primarily India/Pakistani/Bangladeshi people (the tube going into east London smells like curry), and quite a lot of druggies I believe; south London = not very familiar, been in Fulham area and Elephant and Castle area, my impression is quite a lot of students and immigrants; west London = have only been as far as Chiswick, also with the feeling of little cute villages. Primarily British people living there, I think(?), it didn't feel as multicultural.

Anyway, so ideally, I wanted to rent a room with students or young people my age that not only live in the same space, but also interact together and do things together. Especially because I don't know many people in London, it would be great to have good relationships with people that I live with, so I could call it a home. Sounds simple and great, right? But it has been so freaking hard to find a house/flateshare with people my age that interact together. 99% of the places I've looked at have been shared with old people in their mid-late 20s who don't interact with each other. I can't understand why people living together don't do things together with each other! Yesterday there was a house in Fulham which was the first house with young people who actually play with each other, but unfortunately the rent was too high for me.

I eventually accepted to rent a room located in Paddington. It's the IDEAL location, with great transportations, and the room is a cozy, good standard room with no (visible) mice and stuff. The other people living in the flat seem ok. They are a little older, but they seem to be somewhat social, so hopefully I'll get to know them and we'll do things together.

I'm feeling scared to move out of my friend's place. I'm scared to face the uncertainty principles - will I get along with my flatemates? Will I feel at home in the flat with the people? Or will I feel lonely and regret accepting the room? My friend and his flat have been my safe haven and family in this foreign city for the last three weeks, will I miss it so much that I'll be homesick in my new room? I feel so safe, secure and well taken care of here, I don't want to give all that up. But I need to look at this from the opposite point of view: this is my chance to become truly independent, what I partly came to London for, so I need to be brave.

I'm planning to move out tomorrow. Holy shit.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0