More Edinburgh

I was looking through some photos and thought I could post some more Edinburgh photos as I really haven't shown much of the city with the few photos I uploaded last time. As mentioned previously, it's a city with a lot of old style buildings and it's quite charming. However, I don't like the fact that all the buildings are constructed of the same material: greyish stone (which would practically match the sky on a veeery rainy day). But the architecture, on the other hand, is magnificent:


Edinburgh Castle from afar:


This Latin inscription at the entrace of the Castle translates to something like "No one safely provokes me" in English. Macho.


We also visited the National Museum of Scotland, and saw some interesting items and objects in there. For instance, I saw an execution machine thingy that cuts heads that I wanted. Quite a nice ornament to display in the living room.


And the next object is something that people used to put around the necks of their dead family members' bodies in the coffin. Edinburgh was apprently quite successful in the medical field, so instituions were in great need of dead bodies for academic purposes, and thus a black market of cadavers bloomed. Some people started digging in graves to retrieve a dead body that they could sell. So to stop theives from stealing bodies from their coffins, it was very common to put this lovely necklace around your deceased mother or father or whoever to ensure theives would be unable to remove the body:


My sister captured this hot shot of men in kilts:


I just HAVE to upload this photo of me in front of a JK Rowling cafe!!!


Last but not least, MY (I wish) Ferrari (as the colour of my jacket completely matches the colour of the Ferrari, I think I should be its rightful owner :D)

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0