Oh lovely Edinburgh!

As mentioned previously, I spent my Easter weekend up in Edinburgh, Scotland with my lovely sister! It was a lot of fun and adventure! I don't really know where to start, there's so much to write about! Ok, let me start with the most important event: I stepped foot AND ate in two cafes where JK Rowling wrote parts of the Harry Potter books!! I was in the same premises as her, saw the same things and might have even sat on the same chair she did! Maybe my trousers even have particles from her trousers! Maybe we even ordered to eat the same thing! There was one cafe called Black Medicine Co., and it had a really cool interior design. If the design was the same several years ago when Rowling sat there, I can really see how the cafe might have inspired her writing, because its interior gives a sense of mystery. The second cafe was called The Elephant and the House or something similar. It has windows that overlook Edinburgh Castle and a graveyard, which could have inspired some of her graveyard Voldemort scenes! Below is a photo of a statue in the Black Medicine Co. cafe, pretty mysterious and cool!


I'm pretending to be JK Rowling, heehee! I don't think you can see, but the tables and chairs and the entire theme of the cafe is very loggy and foresty (the chairs were rather uncomfortable though, quite impressed that Rowling managed to sit on those for extended hours).


Edinburgh is a really nice city. Even though it's a major city, it's not massive in size, and it's a walking city. The architecture is very beautiful and very old-day style - you could totally believe you are walking in a town in the 19th century or something if you removed all the cars from the streets. One very bad thing about Edinburgh though is that dogs in Edinburgh have no manners (or their homo sapien owners are very bad potty trainers), because there is a lot of dog shit scattered throughout the pavements. My pure WHITE sneakers were like 5cms away from a pile of shit multiple times, and I am eternally grateful that my sneakers did not get smudged in brown crap, especially because my poor sister stepped into a pile. It wasn't just a normal pile of poo, it was like one of those newly pooed diarrhea looking poo. Long story short: she threw her poop shoes and bought a new pair.

We went up to Edinburgh Castle, strolled through the ancient-looking streets among all the lovely cafes, encountered numerous men in kilts musing about whether they were wearing any underwear under the kilt (traditionally you're not suppoed to wear underwear it), enjoyed the beautiful scenary mixture of snow-capped mountain tops, seashores and white clouds against a jet blue sky. Speaking of a blue sky, on Friday when I left for Edinburgh, BBC reported that it would rain both Saturday and Sunday. BBC tends to be rather inaccurate regarding the weather, I mean it is rather common to expect sunny intervals because you foolishly believe BBC will be right, and then get big heavy showers. This time, I hoped reeeeally hard that BBC would be wrong, and I was so happy when they were! Both days we had quite a lot of sunshine, and a little bareable amount of rain. Oh, and another peculiar thing happened. It had just rained, and then the sun came out from behind the clouds again, and it was really sunny. Then suddenly when I looked at a few specks of cloud in the sky, the clouds were rainbow coloured. I don't really know if the rainbow was reflected on the clouds' surfaces or something, but it was sooo beautiful, I had never seen that phenomenon before:


Below are just some random photos of 1)Edinburgh Castle, 2)a scenary view from Edinburgh Castle of the city and snowy mountain, 3)me peeking curiously into a canon head on the Castle yard discovering that it is used as a candy wrapper disposal by tourists, and 4)in the foreground a part of a palace where the Queen stays when she goes to Edinburgh, and in the background a moutain we were supposed to climb on our very last morning before leaving Edinburgh, but never did because it was raining.






I intend on coming back to Edinburgh to seek out more JK Rowling cafes and to climb that mountain above. In the mean time, I hope the Scottish Parliament does something about the god damn dog poo piles soiling the pavements.

Kommentarer
Postat av: kriti

ENVY

I want to pretend to be JKR toooo :'( Aren't you lucky.

But that apart, this post was fun :) I always enjoy reading about new places and fun experiences (dog poo nothwithstanding :P)

2010-04-10 @ 17:59:32
URL: http://partingthesilk.blogspot.com
Postat av: Yiteng

Hiya!

Thanks for your comments, it's these kind of comments that make me want to write more!

We can pretend to be JK Rowling together, give me a shout when we go to Edinburgh someday ;)

2010-04-13 @ 11:44:39
URL: http://mycurriculumvitae.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0