1 year and 6 months

Today I've been with my BF for one and a half years. It makes me smile whenever I think of that today, because it has not been a short road to get to where we are. We went on our first date one and a half year ago, but since then we have been separated continuously. Since I was working as a au pair in Nottingham at that time, I could only see him during the weekends. Last summer, we were separated for almost 3 months before we could reunite, then separated just after several days for another month and a half. We've never been united for a period of more than a month and a half. This long distance thing is hard, and I hate relying on Skype and (expensive!) phone bills to keep contact. And him going through the roughest period of his life during the past years doesn't make any of this easier. So to have overcome those obstacles and still be together and to know that he's mine mine makes me smile!

The other day, I heard this Chinese song, and I really loved the lyrics, because they fit in so well with my situation:

相思好比小蚂蚁
爬呀爬在我心底
尤其在那静静的寂寞夜里
它就在我心游移
叫我好想你

相呀相思
说是痛苦也甜蜜
让那寂寞在我心田扩大了面积
别让那你我的爱缩短距离

所以我好愿意
让那小蚂蚁
变成串串爱意
爬在我心底

The lyrics are about thinking and longing for someone, where ants are used as a metaphor for that, and the melodie is quick and cheerful. It may sound retarded to use ants as a symbol of longing, but it doesn't in Chinese, and the metaphor "cutifies" the song, making me cheerful about having someone to long for rather than being depressed about it.

I raise my imaginary glass to another 100 happy years together!


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0