Rough journey back

I am now back on Swedish soil, got back two days ago. The trip back to Sweden was pretty much a torture. The evening before the day of my flight, we had to catch a train from the small town we lived in to Beijing. The train trip took twelve hours, and we spent the entire night on the train, sleeping in bunk beds. After we got to Beijing we headed straight for the airport for our flight.

That doesn't sound much like a torture eh? However, I got diarrhea the day before leaving for the train trip. That was survivable as I was still at home with (essential) easy access to the toilet every fifteen minutes or so. The next day, the day of the train trip, the diarrhea stopped, and I felt a bit less sick. I thought I would be alright on the entire trip back to Sweden. Oh how very wrong I was.

That evening, after we got on the train, I climbed up onto my bunk bed and went to sleep. In the middle of the night I started feeling sick again, and felt like throwing up whenever my head was level with my stomach, so I had to elevate my head so I didn't throw up and disgust the people sleeping on the other bunk beds. After repeating the process of falling alseep and then waking up countless times due to nausea, at 5am I started getting diarrhea again. Having diarrhea on a train full of passengers was not an ideal situation. I'm very grateful about the fact that the worst part of my diarrhea occurred between 5 and 7am while most passengers were still sleeping, during which time I basically invaded the toilet on the train. The toilet on the train was not pleasant. It was one of those typical Chinese crouching toilets where there is a fotball sized hole on the floor which penetrates the floor of the train where people's urine and excrete go through the hole onto the railway tracks below. Those types of toilets are disgusting as there is definitely pee and occasionally poo surrounding the hole (people seem to generally be bad aimers). I had to spend 2 whole hours in one of those, which didn't help my nausea at all.

Finally we got off the train and headed for the airport. We had a million heavy bags, and my arm muscles struggled to carry them. At the airport, the diarrhea continued quite regularly even until I got onto the plane. I usually get plane sick, because I feel too enclosed and the smell of plane food really disgusts me. This combined with diarrhea made me feel pretty damn sick. Fortunately, the diarrhea stopped at about 5pm (12 hours!).

Wow, I just realised how detailed I described my trip back. Despite the horrible trip back, I had a great vacation in China, and I really don't want to be back in Sweden. I'm still jetlagged, and I'm reeeally sleepy at the moment, so I'll write more later. Just a few photos below: 1) Nanjing, 2) Hong Kong, 3) Traditional soy sauce production in a small town





Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0