Interview in Liverpool

On Friday, I went to my second interview for med-school in Liverpool...and survived! The worst wasn't the interview itself, it was the fact that I had to get up at 3am that day to get to Liverpool! I went to sleep at like 8pm the previous night, and I was very tired, but never really fell completely asleep that night, which was so annoying! I had some dreams, but very short and always shifting, and would wake up to the slightest noise, which I normally never do! And JUST as I dreamt that I was about to reach for a candy jar and open the lid, the alarm rang!!!

I almost missed the bus going to Euston Station for my train, because I mis-read the clock (see, too little sleep doesn't get me very far, especially not if I never got through my candy jar dream!). Anyway, got to the station and waited for my train, while conversing with an Indian man. He gave two bottles of juices to bribe me of my phone number, which worked, hah. I accepted the bottles and gave him my number, but I accidently gave him the wrong number. It was an accident, not on purpose, because my brain had not started to function properly yet!! When we parted, he kissed my cheek three times, and on the third and second time, he freaking licked it as well, urgh, wasn't very pleasant!

I was planning on doing some last-minute reading on the train, but gave that up when I realised all I wanted to do was sleeeep. Slept almost all the way to Liverpool and got there at 8am. Liverpool was rainy!! I wonder if it is an interview curse put upon me, because last time I went to St Andrews, it was also rainy. I don't mean rainy as drizzle, which is the most normal wheather phenomena in the UK, but rainy as in actual showering, heavy rain that soaks you within seconds, which is a rarer scene in the UK. It's quite annoying because usually I have a copy of a map of the campus in my hand, which gets unreadable the moment I pull it out of my bag! And also because I want to walk around a little in the city and see what it's like, but it's a pain in the ass to walk around when your clothes, bags and socks get soaked, grr!

Liverpool was awared European Cultural City of 2008, so I had quite high expectations of it. Walking in the city centre, there were so many gallerys and theatres and stuff, and the architecture was very nice and grand, so it's definitely a pretty nice city. The university is located in the opposite direction of most of the cultural sights, so I didn't see much of the sights on my way to the university or at the university. The parts of Liverpool I was in reminded me a little bit of Nottingham, with quite old buildings, and many of them boarded up and quite creepy looking. The university is quite a well known university, with lots of investment in research, and the medical school is famous for its curriculum. Here're two photos of parts of the med-school:


The med-school is also called "red brick" school or something, because most of the buildings of the med-school were built with red bricks back in the 19-ishth century, and they've been kept that way. Parts of the school were an infirmary, and on the inside, the hospital beds have been removed and replaced with educational facilities, but otherwise the interior decorations and some things are still from the old days when the buildings functioned as a clinical site.


The sign reads: "The University of Liverpool, Faculty of Medicine". And yeah baby, check out those bikes! I will no doubt befriend the students/teachers who own them if I start in the school.

The interview went alright, I felt. Again, very hard to tell how I did compared to the other applicants. They asked the usual questions, like why medicine, and why Liverpool, and about their famous curriculum. They also asked about the health care systems and comparisons between Sweden, China and England. I answered most of the questions like I intended to and prepared for, and not much unexpected came up. I had two male interviewers and they were quite friendly. I noticed one of them had a multi-colored tie, and I kept on staring at it, because I thought it was a very nice tie! They also had a small table of biscuits and coffee in between them, which I also stared at unintentionally a little bit too often (hope they didn't detect the cookie monster in me!). I kept on hoping they'd offer me some before I left, but they didn't :( Before going, as the interview felt so short, like 5 minutes, I asked them "Are you sure I've had 20 minutes of interview?!" And they said "Hehe, yeah, look at the clock". And the man in the lovely tie commented "You did very well", so I take that as a good sign. But I am prepared for a rejection, won't get my hopes up too high.

Gotta go, but write more later. Laters!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0