People Who Make My Day #3

Ever since I was a chubby kid, I've always wanted to volunteer. My vision was to work in an organisation like Doctors Without Borders, travel the world while saving lives. I've been told it's quite an unrealistic and childish vision, there's no way I'd be able to live on my volunteering.

Yesterday I attended an interview for a volunteer position as a "social befriender." Bascially it means I'd attend group activities for housebound people (elderly, disabled etc.), or visit them in their homes, or take them out shopping a few times a month, i.e. generally helping them, interacting with them to make their lives easier and a little bit more enjoyable and socialable as many of these people do not have any family around to take care of them or keep them company.

When I arrived at my interview spot, I was surprised to be greeted by a wheelchair-bound woman. I had no idea the woman who administers the organisation was disabled. As we talked, I learned that she not only administers one organisation, but 4 entire organisations by herself! She organises all the group activities, assigns the volunteers to the housebound people, recruits volunteers, helps the housebound people herself, helps anyone who would need her help in any way. She does all this, devotes all her time to this, despite the fact that she is diagnosed with cerebral palsy and is wheelchair-bound herself. Many of the people she's helped have told her that they wouldn't want to live if it were not for her help, she's given their lives meaning again. She's adminstered the organisations for 30ish years now, which means she's witnessed numerous elder people that she's helped pass away, yet she's still finds the strength to continue.

I probably didn't do too well with the interview, because all I could do was gape like a monkey at her, as I was utterly amazed by her strength, determination, and kindness. Her work has been recognised nationally, as she's been awarded some MBE award by the queen. Miraculously, despite my not so successful interview-turned-gaping-session, she said she would be delighted to have me volunteer. I was so flattered when she said she could tell that I would be a great fit as a volunteer! Being inspired by her life and story, I couldn't stop smiling and day-dreaming the rest of the day at the thought that maybe my vision isn't too unrealistic and childish after all.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0