Story of a Boy and a Girl #3

I sneaked into a shop right beside the book shop, and sat down on a chair. After repeating my speech in my mind a few times, I decided to just go for it and call, no point dwelling on whether I should use this phrase instead of that etc. So I dialled the number stolen from MF's phone, and hoped as hard as I could that he would pick up (I would've raged so much had he not picked up after going through all that trouble of getting his number!), so lucky for him, he did pick up.

I struggled to get my speech through, especially because he didn't always respond the way I imagined in my mind! In the end, I gave up following my speech and just improvised, which caused me to stutter a lot as I was pretty nervous. So after some confusion and many repetitions, we eventually agreed to meet up the following afternoon. It's kind of funny now to think in retrospect of my call, going to see an exhibition of dead bodies, and on that day. First, B hates seeing anything internal of the body, let alone dead bodies. Second, I woke him up with my call that afternoon, because he had just come back to London from Hong Kong that morning.

The next day I met him outside his halls, and I wasn't late! I made sure I would be on time, I couldn't give him the impression that I'm always late for appointments on our very first outing (he did eventually realise that during our second, third, fourth etc.etc. dates though). We took the tube for about an hour to the exhibition place, and honestly, I can't really remember our tube journey much. I do remember I was not too nervous meeting him, although I did try to be as funny as possible.

The exhibition was fascinating! I almost forgot I was with him and because I became completely immersed in my own world of brains, kidneys, muscle tissue, embryos and everything there. On our way back home on the tube, I remember how my heart raced when he took one of my hands when he saw the long scar on my thumb. His thumb stroked my scar while I tried to calm my jumping heart, and recall to him how I managed to hammer a sharp tool into my thumb while I was crafting a wooden elephant in my crafts class, how the blood squirted all over my elephant and floor while I was stupidly looking around for the source of the blood, not realising it came from my own damn finger.

We had dinner together that evening with MF in Burger King, and I guess that was his first experience of my weirdness (or at least he claims it's weird, but I still don't agree that it's weird), because I ordered fries and ice-cream, and had some fries together with the ice-cream. Towards the end of the evening, the three of us hung out in his room playing a card game. The loser of each game had to drink vodka mixed with salt, pepper and vinegar. The drink tasted like sour, peppery urine, it was so freaking horrible, and I kept on losing! When it got late that night, I left with MF to go back to her halls. I felt the day went alright, and it was a fun day (how can it not be fun with dead bodies to goggle at??).

I didn't have any expectations of how B was as a person, because I never really got a proper opportunity to interact with him before our date, but my impression of him that day was that he was a bit weird, and a little hard to get to know and interact with. When I got back to MF's room, I texted him, and told him I had a good day. He texted back that he did too and wished me a happy Valentine's Day. I hardly noticed it was Valentine's Day, but in retrospect, I think it's a really cool coindence that our first date was on Valentine's Day.

To be continued...!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0