Where will life take me?

I was thinking the other day about my life, and was suddenly awed by all the changes that have taken place over the last year and a half. Two years ago, I was still in (dull little) Sweden, getting ready to graduate from high school, but since graduating, I have experienced so many things I never thought I would!

When I travelled back that summer to China after graduating, my dad took me to a hospital, and I got to witness surgeries. I observed a heart surgery while standing right by the patient, and I saw the heart beat, then stop as the surgeons diverted the blood flow, then start again before they closed the patient up. The same summer, I also worked in a place helping mentally disabled people. Not really standard things you would experience at the age of 18 eh.

At the very beginning of year 2009, I desperately wanted to get out of Sweden. So in very short notice, I started looking up au pair placements in the UK. Not because I was particularly fond of looking after children, but there were a lot of families in need of au pairs, and it would be rather easy to find a placement. Initially, I was going to take up a London-based offer, but in the last minute I changed my mind to a family living in Nottingham. The London family had two newborn babies, not sure I could have handled that, I wouldn't even dare to pick them up, which would have made me looking after them slightly difficult!

After arriving in Nottingham, I met new, kind people. Then less than two weeks later, when I travelled to London to visit a friend, I met the guy who would be my future boyfriend. Later, in June that year, we had to separate for three entire months, as I had to go back to Sweden and he to Hong Kong. Three months apart nearly killed our relationship, not because we stopped liking each other, but because it was too hard. Thank god we survived, and in the beginning of November, after my first stage of UK University applications were completed, I moved to London to live with him.

That was more than six months ago, and well, I'm still with him. But I've also worked, lived alone, volunteered, attended interviews, and done a whole bunch of other things. Life's been a challenge, especially relationship-wise as well. Although I am very happy with the BF, it hasn't been easy. These challenges are also the reason I love life so much, this is how life is supposed to be in my opinion, full of surprises and new challenges. Well worth living for, even though the surprises and challenges aren't always good or easy.

In the summer I will be in China for a few months, then I will proceed my journey in Liverpool. Thinking about the future scares me. I intend on introducing the BF to my relatives (I have 100s of them) while in China, how will I survive that?? Then I will commence university and med-school. Will I make friends? Will I like the university? God forbid I become one of those get-so-drunk-that-previous-night-is-completely-forgotten-almost-everyday type of person! I know, it seems impossible such a cool person like me will become a drunkie sort of person, but you never know :)

Then thinking even further ahead, like 10 years ahead, I don't even dare to! If all goes to plan I should be a doctor by then. But is that where life will take me? I'm not so sure anymore after the last two years!

P.S. Today is sunny and warm again, which means ICE-CREAM day! Woohoo!

P.P.S. I've been trying to find watermelons, because you have no idea how much I crave them, it's like a rip-out-my-hair-and-eyeballs-craving! But either they are TOO expensive, or they are so unfresh that when I push the skin with my finger, my finger freaking sinks into the skin! Today I shall continue my hunt for the perfect melon!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0