Bittersweet

Easter holiday is approaching. I'm starting to desperately dread extended holidays when students have the opportunity to go back home, because that means my BF will need to head back to Hong Kong to sort out family issues that needs him there in person. Since the beginning of our relationship, it has always been interrupted by weeks or months of separation because he needs to go back during those festive or holiday periods. Easter, summer, Christmas, and now easter again.

I thought I would get more and more used to him going away the more times he did it, but to be honest, it's just gotten harder and harder. The first time he went away last easter, it was when I realised I actually miss him a little when he's gone. A year later, the next easter, I feel so effing lonely in this empty flat. It's full of little reminders everywhere of our times together, any direction I turn my head I see something that reminds me of him. Quite painful. That's the bitter part.

The sweet part is that everytime he goes away, I realise how much I miss him and it makes me treasure the time I have with him between the holidays. I try not to waste a day and enjoy the time as much as possible before he's gone from my arms again. In a way it's nice to have a reminder every few months to remind me to enjoy every moment possible.

Anyway, I will not sit here and sulk about how empty the flat is and how lonely I feel. I have decided I will put myself in a culinary challenge! I will try to find recipes to cook, and find new favourite dishes. I am not exactly the most gifted chef, seeing that I have set oil on fire and melted a big plastic scooping spoon in burning sugar, but I shall learn from my past mistakes and move on. Tomorrow, I will cook salmon for lunch and chicken for dinner. Last Saturday, I was so proud I made cut up raw salmon and stir-fried some veggies and ate that with rice. I made that meal from scratch, look!


Now I will devote some time to find some (easy) recipes for my meals tomorrow, laters!

Kommentarer
Postat av: Anonym

hihi den där gröna korven mellan laxbitarna ser ju ut som fiskbajs :o ^^

2010-03-26 @ 19:35:12
Postat av: kriti

heyhey :)

I'm so sure you don't remember me, we chatted once when Lucas discovered we're both Harry Potter nerds- ring a bell? :O Anyway, just discovered your blog and am having a lot of fun reading it, good stuff! :)

2010-03-27 @ 15:40:19
URL: http://partingthesilk.blogspot.com
Postat av: Yiteng

Julia: Hahaha, it's freaking wasabi! Does your fish poo that big ass poop?



Kriti: Hello! I do remember you! How on earth did you find your way to my blog? :o Glad you enjoy reading it! Lucas speaks highly of your blog, so I will definitely read it sometime soon!

2010-03-28 @ 23:53:56
URL: http://mycurriculumvitae.blogg.se/
Postat av: kriti

Facebook :) You have it listed there as your website! And my blog is kinda dead now, ah well.

2010-03-29 @ 18:59:29
URL: http://partingthesilk.blogspot.com
Postat av: Yiteng

Ahh, oki. I didn't know non-friends could see that link :o



I took a look at your blog the other day, and I read some of the very early stuff you wrote back in 2007, and I LOVE your writing style and your randomness and humour!! Will definitely read more!

2010-03-30 @ 14:56:17
URL: http://mycurriculumvitae.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0