I AM GOING TO BE A DOCTOR

If you haven't already seen or heard or read through some sort of internet social site, e.g. Facebook, I will gladly repeat that Liverpool University's School of Medical Education accepted me! They gave me an unconditional offer. At first it didn't really hit me. On the 22nd, late afternoon, I was just back from a power-walking session, and opened my mail just cause the computer was on, and there was a mail from UCAS (the University College Adimission Services in the UK) saying that there was an update on one of my university statuses. Immediately, I associated that mail with yet another unsuccessful application from Liverpool or St. George's biomedicine course that I also applied to as a back-up. So I logged onto my UCAS account, and I saw the "un" bit in the word "unconditional", so I thought yep, another unsucessful. Then it occurred to me that the word unsuccessful looked a bit weird, it was spelled wrong. When I read the rest of the world, I gradually realised it was con-di-tional, not success-ful. So I violently dragged the BF to the computer so that he could confirm the word my eyes were witnessing. Yeah baby, unconditional! I think I still have to do an English exam though, like the TOFEL or ITELS or something and get a certain score to actually be able to obtain the university's offer, but I think it should be alright, seeing that my English is rather fluent.

Then the morning after, I couldn't sleep, and woke up at 6am. That's when it really struck me that I will actually be a doctor, I am really on my way towards that! Then I hopped out of bed and ate raspberries and drank coffee to contain my excitement. I spent my remaining day shopping at H&M, walking in Hyde Park, having lunch and then Italian ice-cream outside with BF, laundry (cause I felt like I needed to something productive), and ended the day eating chocolate (I couldn't stop, it was one of those moments when you just can't effing stop munching on cocoa and sugar and milk) while playing The Sims 3. Throughout the day at random times, I would remember that I am actually going to commence my medical education soon, which would make me sooo excited.

There was one thing was not very great about eating ice-cream yesterday. I had been moaning and whining about eating good Italian ice-cream for ages, but never found a good opportunity to do it due to some circumstances. Either I was too hungry for actual food or because the weather was bad or because I simply did not have enough money on me. Yesterday, in the morning, the weather was warm with sunny intervals, so I decided that today if there is one thing I have to do, that is consume Italian ice-cream while walking in the warm sunshine. So I met up with BF for some lunch first, and then just as we finished lunch, it started effing raining! I suggested that we go home, cause the rain crushed my lovely vision. But BF convinced me to go cause we had gone all the way out. So we ended up eating ice-cream in the parlour watching the rain pouring outside. Quite the opposite of what I envisioned. However, besides the damn weather, I have to say that Oddonio's Ice-cream Parlour in South Kensington on Bute Street has super yummy Italian ice-cream. The coffee and hazelnut flavours are heeeaven, and there are so many more I haven't tried yet which I intend to. As soon as it gets sunny and nice again, I will run my ass off to that parlour to make sure the ice-cream is consumed in sunshine this time.


Ice-cream eating expressions!

They even had a lovely ice-cream bin outside the parlour. I want one of these in my kitchen:


My lesson learned and ultimate conclusion of this whole university application experience (cliche warning): If you have a dream, work hard, work you ass off, keep optimistic and happy if you've done your best (I failed horribly at the optimistic part), and everything will be alright in the end.

Kommentarer
Postat av: Meng

CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2010-04-15 @ 21:21:14
Postat av: Yiteng

Thankies Mengie :D:D

2010-04-18 @ 22:44:03
URL: http://mycurriculumvitae.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0