Philosophical Musing #5 - Optimism vs. Pessimism

I've been thinking about something, especially because of my med-school interviews: optimism and pessimism. Last year when I applied to UK med-school, I was rejected from all of my choices, even though I was optimistic. So this year, I am generally rather pessimistic about my chances of getting in, despite the fact that I'm a step closer to that dream compared to last year and have attended interviews. It's mostly because I don't want to be disappointed again, and it'll be easier to deal with the potential negative outcome if I have no positive expectations to begin with.

I have come to this conclusion: I think people who are more optimistic are mentally braver and stronger than pessimists. An optimist must be able to take disappointment, and despite the disappointment still find the strength to think optimistically about the next thing in their lives. Pessmists on the other hand don't have to deal with any disappointment, and can go on thinking in the same negative way, and they only risk being positively surprised.

Pessimists also commonly claim that they're just being realistic about life, that there simply just isn't such good things in life, and that optimists are being ignorant and unrealistic. That's just bullshit. There are good things happening in life all the time, but pessimists are so busy looking on the negative side of things, they're so obscured by their thick cloud of negative thoughts that they don't see the bright side and good things.

I guess I have divided everyone and optimism and pessimism into black and white areas. I know a person is rarely a complete pessimist or optimist, but a mixture of both. Also, I am not sure if I made enough sense in my writing above to convey my thoughts regarding this subject, but I hope what I wrote was understandable and followable.

I am a little ashamed of myself for "taking the easier mental route" approach, i.e. being pessimistic in regards to not only my med-school interviews, but also some other things in life. For instance, I decided a while ago I don't ever want to get married, because I know of so many examples of adultery within married couples close to and around me, committed by people I would never think possible. So I thought if I never get married, I would never have to deal with that grief and disappointment. But I refuse to be mentally weak, and I want to believe in life, believe in myself and my ability of altering that trend, and so I don't care if every married couple seems to be cheating on each other, it doesn't mean it'll happen to me! I will try to resume the optimistic mental state I had before and will hang on tight to positive thoughts for dear life!

Kommentarer
Postat av: Julio

Asså att behöva ta smällen efter att ens partner varit otrogen är nog lika smärtsamt oavsett om man är gift eller inte. Det är förtroendet som för varandra som kränks och förnedringen i och med det tror jag som är mest smärtsam, som man upplever oavsett om man är gift eller ej. Om du vill undvika det så får du antingen undvika förhållanden eller så får du på något sätt bestämma dig för att inte ta åt dig om nåt sådant skulle hända, tex om du och din partner bestämmer er för att ha ett öppet förhållande... Jag tror doxk personligen att inget av alternativen är en bra långtidslösning, och båda är nog ganska destruktiva. Jag tror att man måste ta risker om man vill få nånting utav livet, och detta är nog en sådan risk man måste ta om man inte vill gå miste om kärlekens innebörd.



Huruvida man är optimistiskt eller pessimistisk tror jag inte gör en till en feg eller modig individ. Självklart har ens synsätt på världen och en själv betydelse, men det viktigaste tror jag är att man vågar chansa trots att man är rädd/känner hopplöshet. Det tror jag är riktigt mod, för då har man tagit en risk och övervunnit en rädsla. Att vara pessimist och begränsad pga det tror jag däremot är, om man nu kan kalla det så, fegt. Att ständigt vara optimist kan vara rätt dumt det med, men hellre det än pessimist, både för personens egen skull och för de runt omkring honom/henne.



Det bästa är nog att vara en realist = inte ge upp pga rädsla att misslyckas och samtidigt känna till sina begränsningar och ha självdistans. Verkar som att lagom är bäst trots allt :O

2010-03-06 @ 16:05:20
Postat av: Yiteng

Omg, your philosophy course is totally paying off, you've become so friggin' philosophically deep Julio!! Yeah, I agree with what you said about adultery hurting just as much regardless of your marital status. It was just an example of pessimism.



This is really well put (it's almost like a smart Churchill quote!!): "[...]det viktigaste tror jag är att man vågar chansa trots att man är rädd/känner hopplöshet. Det tror jag är riktigt mod, för då har man tagit en risk och övervunnit en rädsla."

Postat av: Julio

ehehe, tack tror jag :P övening ger färdighet xP



är du i london igen? :o

2010-03-09 @ 21:13:38

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0