(Second) best sister in the world

This is a story about my sister. She is the (second) best sister in the whole world (I am the first, ehehe!!). Today is the 8th of March, which is her birthday, and I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to honour her, because she has sacrificed a lot for me.

My sister is the only other sibling I have, and she is a few years older than me. When I was born in 1990, China had adopted the one-child policy some years prior to that. So I was basically born illegally as the second child in the family. If the authorities found out that my parents had a second child, they would lose their jobs, source of income, and be unable to provide for the family, as well as have to pay a LARGE sum of fine among other things that would destroy a family. In order for that not to happen, my parents sent my sister to live with my grandparents when she was barely 6 years old. My parents moved to another city before my birth, where I lived with them after I was born.

For almost 5 years, we both lived without the slightest clue of our blood relation. My parents had both of us fooled that we were their friend's kid in case any of us would accidently spill out the existence of an illegal sister out of excitement. My parents didn't want to live separated from my sister for the rest of their lives, any parent would dream of a united family. So this is the reason why we ended up in Sweden, a place where there is no restriction to the number of kids a couple is allowed to have.

My sister didn't have the joy of living with her own parents because of me. I know that my grandparents treated her like their own daughter, with love and care (and somehow my sister didn't get spoiled by them). Even today, they have this stronger bond between them that I lack with my grandparents. But it's just not the same to grow up with grandparents, and it makes me feel very guilty and sad to know that I stole my sister's experience of a childhood with my parents. That's why she has sacrified a lot for me. She's also given me the joy of having a companion by my side while growing up. Maybe we lack the bond that siblings get during the very first years of their lives living together, but I still love my sister to bits. She's done so many other beautiful things for me throughout my life too, which would make a list that is too long to list here. Not to mention, she's extremely talented in art, maths, science (although not so much in singing!), and she's an open, social and kind-hearted human being. To tell the truth, she is actually the best sister in the world (and yeah, I admit, even a better one than I am..!), she's the sunshine of my life, and I am proud as hell to have a sister so fantastic as her.


Ok, even though I do love her, I still gotta fight for the cake! Cake>sister, ehehehehe!


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0