Cemetries of London

I don't ever walk in cemeteries, but yesterday I had a sudden urge to do so, so I set off for Brompton Cemetery situated rather close to where I live. It was during the day, with plenty of daylight, so I wasn't scared of ghosts and zombies pursuing me. I don't know how often an average person wanders around in a cemetery, but I think it should be done regularly by everyone. Most of us don't encounter or experience death firsthand or secondhand on a daily basis. We know of death and are aware of it, but it feels so far away, like it doesn't apply to us, especially because we are so young.

When I walked in the cemetery yesterday, I was reminded that death is real, death happens to everyone - to the young woman aged 24 whose life had barely begun; to the soldier aged 20 who died during a battle; to the grandad aged 78 who is lovingly missed by his children and grandchildren. The graves belonged to people from all walks of life and all ages, not just the elderly - there were too many people who died far too young. It kind of triggered a feeling of shame inside me: I am not living life as happily as I possibly can, or as appreciately and grateful as I can.

Some of the graves were from centuries ago, like the 1800s. They were mostly overgrown by weeds and looked like no one had tended or visited them for a loooong time. That made me feel a bit sad for the dead - have they been forgotten? Has the remaining family all died as well? Where were the descendants? On the other hand, there were also graves that had a bunch of colorful fresh flowers by it, which made me feel hopeful and happy.

I enjoyed looking at the different tombs the graves had, and the engravings on the stones. Most of the tombs were crosses, and some were angel statues. A lot of them were engraved with the phrase "In loving memory...", although a few had a more personal engraving, like "Name Surname fell alseep on the ##th of ####. Is greatly missed by family." Reading the engravings also made me feel happy and made me smile.

Cementeries are generally a place of great sorrow, but it's really quite refreshing to walk through all the tombs and be reminded of life. Just be sure to do it during daytime!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0