IELTS: check!

I got my IELTS English exam results back yesterday, and I got an average of 8.5 out of 9.0, which is plenty enough to finally completely secure my place in med-school in Liverpool!!! The results are sent by post, and in the UK postmen work on Saturdays as well. The exam centre sent out the results last Friday, so I was expecting it to arrive on Saturday, seeing that domestic city post should take maximum a day. I was nervous throughout Friday night, and wriggled around the bed (which the BF was not happy about). Saturday morning we went out for speed-walking session, but when we returned I was soooo disappointed to not see any letters in front of our door! This meant I would have to wait until Tuesday, because no one works on Sundays, and Monday is a so-called bank holiday (there are bank holidays regularly throughout the year, and I suspect it's just an excuse for people to be lazy). However, yesterday, after breakfast and a few episodes of Friends (I've started watching Friends now, and I'm addicted! And no, I'm not behind!), my results letter popped down the mail slit on the door. I was shocked, but pleased, and I tore it open, and glanced at my results and started jumping! Bingo! :D

People kept on telling me, while I was revising and waiting for the results of the exam that shouldn't have a problem getting a 7.0 for med-school admission, because after all, I am fluent in English, and I am quite good at it. I know that too, but the IELTS is not only a test of your English knowledge, but also of exam techniques. There's the time limit, which is especially hard in the writing section, because you must write two short essays within one hour. I was mostly concerned about the writing section as I like to take my time when I write properly and formally as they require. When I rush through, it makes me feel like my sentences are silly and informal. Besides, they also require you to write a certain number of words, and if you don't, you get penalized, so you have to literally count your words. The topics you get are not necessarily topics you have much opinion on either, but you still need to squeeze out the required number of words. Also, you must follow the instructions given, and write exactly about what they ask you to. If you don't do all this, you will get your score deducted, even though you're a writing genius.

Anyway, to celebrate, the BF and I went to a small Chinese place yesterday evening and had the most expensive (he paid, so it was alright :P) but yummy authentic food from a province called Sichuan (known for hot fiery spicey stuff). Halfway through the meal, the BF had consumed about a big bowl of rice and multiple glasses of tap water to relieve the burn in his tongue from the hotness. I enjoyed the meal more than him, it was the best thing I've eaten for aaages. Then I ate half a tub of Ben and Jerry's Fairly Nuts (while watching Friends, of course). Oh My God, I nearly died, the ice-cream was heavenly!

Liverpool University, here I come for real!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0