Society

The other day I wrote this in my diary:

2010-05-01 21:45
It was pouring outside. When I peeked out the window, I could see frequent droplets of water illuminated by the organge glow of the street lights. The pavements were empty, I did not see a single person in the rain, only the heavy splattering of the falling droplets. At that moment, I longed to go outside and stand in the rain. It would have been so refreshing and pleasant to become entirely soaked, when was the last time I was properly soaked (besides deliberately soaking myself under the shower head)? I also longed to run through the streets blindly, and to laugh at my crazy action. I want to defy what is considered normal and acceptable by society with my behaviour. As people would look at me with expressions of what-the-heck-is-this-mental-girl-doing, I would stare back and sneer at them. They are the ones that have conformed to the suffocating demands of society in order to fit in.

This is something that's been on my mind for a while now, conforming to society's laws and rules whether written or unwritten. I don't really know how all this started in my mind, but I suppose it stems from the fact that I am in all honesty a little bit tired of the city life and the stiffness of it. London as a city is wonderful, and it is no doubt one of my favourite cities. If I think London is stiff, then there is probably no city in the world that would be unstiff.

I've just been tired of it all: the constant flow of traffic congesting the roads and the neverending rumbling of vehicles; the deafening and utterly annoying motorcycles that cause me to curse and encourage my evil side as I pray that they will crash (ok, not really crash, but that would be the most efficient way to make them shut the F up). The city and its inhabitants are also very predictable: when the sun is out, everyone gathers in the park. When it's raining, everyone complains and stays indoor. Everyone buys coffee from Starbucks (and it's not even good coffee) etc.

Why doesn't anyone do anything differently? When it's raining, why not rush out and run and sing in the rain? (I've done the running part now, and it feels soooo liberating, I have yet to challenge the singing part). When it's sunny, why not refuge to a more distant and open green space? Hyde Park is not even that pretty.

Argh, I don't know what I am getting at. It's hard to articulate what I mean. Has anyone ever felt the same way?

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0