Random thoughts about food

Ever since I sat my English exam (which I do not know the result of yet, and it's killing me!), I've had some more time on my hands. I have devoted this time to FOOD. No, I haven't been binge eating humongous amounts, but I have been baking and cooking new food! I made my own hummus the other day, and it turned out better than Tesco bought ones! I've also made smoothies and different salads (I don't understand why I haven't made Greek salad before, they are sooo yum!). Yesterday morning I also made my first ever bread. I was soooo upset when it got goddamn burnt when I took it out of the oven! I just wanted to bake it a few more minutes because the inside still seemed a little bit gooey, but after the few minutes the surface turned into black! I attempted to rescue it by  dusting the burnt surface off with tissue paper, but to no avail, and the tissue paper got stuck on the bread :( I'm comforting my failure by convincing myself that it is ok to burn bread on my first try. Today I shall bake heavenly bread!

Recently, I discovered something regarding food, cooking and taste. There really is a big difference in the taste of raw products and the subsequent taste depending on the quality of ingredients you use. I used to buy the cheapest available alternative of a product, but now I have stopped looking at the prices, and just buy as good quality as possible. Ok, it's hard to not look at the price as a poor working person like me, but when things get expensive, I convince myself that it's worth the taste to sacrifice money! For instance, I now buy our bread at the market where they bake it from scratch with good ingredients. It is not inexpensive, in fact I could never imagine spending so much on bread from our food budget, but it really makes me wonder while chewing the yummy piece how I ever lived with conventional store bought, factory produced, yucky, chemically loaded no taste bread.

I never knew food could be so enjoyable and cooking could be so much fun. I was so effing proud of myself while my bread was baking in the oven last morning (a sensation that evaporated very quickly when the bread came out black though). Cooking gives a satisfied sensation with oneself, like you've successfully created something enjoyable from scratch. I see why my people aspire to be chefs now!

Welcome to my life feta cheese, olives, anchovies, and all lovely ingredients! Look at my first bread attempt:


P.S. The last few days, London has been on fever, cause the temperature soared into nearly 30C! The weather has been absolutely flawless, and I've never seen such blue sky and counted such few clouds and done such intensive ice-cream consumption. But now it's turned white and yucky and cold again.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0