More comprehensive update

Heya! So here comes the more detailed version of some experiences and thoughts so far of life in university and stuff. I have moved to Liverpool for almost a month now (arrived on the 18th of September). So weird how time has literally flown by, I mean, have I really slept on the bed in my room for almost 30 nights? Have I opened my eyes to this room for 30 mornings??

Speaking of my room, it's quite a nice and cosy room (in comparison to many of the other rooms I've seen in the other university accommodation sites). My room is not actually owned by the university, it's like half private, half university-owned, so the rooms are a little better. At least I have my own toilet, which is the best thing ever. I've heard really ridiculous things about some toilets in the halls of other sites. Apparently, some students have to share bathrooms, like literally bathrooms. There are no showers, and on the bathtub there are no shower heads either. They only have a tap on the tub, and if they wash their hair, they have to somehow manipulate their neck muscles to position their head underneath the tap. When the students complained, the accommodation people were claimed that on the description and contract, it clearly said "bathroom". Freaking ridiculous! Anyway, here's a photo of my desk and most of my room:


Am I happy being here in Liverpool? Well, I certainly am grateful that I am here. I really appreciate the opportunity I have, and am very grateful to my parents and all others that have helped me get to this point. I'm happy that I am learning medicine, I like learning it. Some days I feel happy here, other days I feel a bit sad and lonely, and miss my boyfriend and family. I miss the comfort of a home, whether in London or Sweden. I shall not complain though, for I ought to be grateful for what I currently already have!

I also miss my old friends. At the moment, everyone I have met is someone new, someone I have to get to know from the beginning. I don't mind that, but I miss having people around me who I already know, and who don't think I'm weird (well, at least who have gotten used to/accepted my weirdness). I feel like many people aren't putting a lot of effort into making new friends and getting to know new people here. I am making a lot of effort, so not getting it back from most other people I encounter is quite disappointing. I'm glad to have met one girl though, we have a bit in common, so it's really nice to have someone slightly similar to hang out with.

I have a lot of work to do from my course, right from the beginning. There was no "get used to the work load" phase, it was like BAM, read and understand ALL this. On one hand, I am learning a lot, I feel like I'm learning, increasing my knowledge. On the other hand, it's been quite stressful. I'm starting to feel less stressed though recently, because I have just come to terms with the fact that I shall do my best in completing the tasks and assignments, work hard, and do as much as possible without denying myself all life's pleasures or killing myself by drowning in all the work!

So far, it's been ok. I'm ok, just tired. I think the predominant emotion I feel everyday is sleepiness (emotion is probably not the right noun here, hmm). Time is going fast and I'm usually too busy to think much these days besides about things like the greater omentum, and its structure, function and importance in the abdomen, so all is good.


(I cannot find a photo of myself that does not have food in it, hah...! My boyfriend's right: Yiteng ~ eating).

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0