CANADA Part 1

My vacation in Canada has officially come to an end, and I am currently in Stockholm again. My sister and I managed to stick to our preliminary super packed schedule, freaking amazing! I have to admit we were very lucky in terms of weather and transportation. I had a good time in Canada! Although I did get sick of my sister at various times, I am very grateful for the time and effort (and money!) she put into making my trip enjoyable. For instance, most places we went to, she had already been to, but she didn't mind taking me there again.

I suppose my general impression of Canada, or at least of the cities and places that I visited, is that it is a pleasant place. I really loved the province Quebec and its natural scenaries. A drive through the province provides landscapes of mountains, meadows, forests, lakes, colourful cottages, and always beautifully sparkling in the background, the River St Laurent. My most enjoyable days in Canada were the 2 I spend among all that breathtaking nature.

The River and Fjords


On top of the world, woohoo!


We spent one morning whale-watching, and it was an AMAZING experience! The dirty waterproof and heat-conserving mandatory uniform was less amazing, although I soon forgot about my ugly uniform as soon as the boat started gliding along the river. The day started out rainy, although when the rain ceased (thank god), it turned foggy, and made the whole place mysteriously beautiful.

Whale-watching was not really what I expected. I thought the whales would like run us over or slam into our boat with their enormous bodies, but I have learned that whales are very peaceful animals, they are more scared of us than we are of them! They would be above water everytime they surfaced the water to breath. They would kind of flip into the air like a dolphin, but less agile than one, as they are bigger. It wasn't hard to spot them, as they had to come up for air regularly every few minutes, but we had to be patient. I envied them as I watched them surface and re-surface. They were beautiful and seemed very calm and care-free, as if at that moment, the most important thing to them was just to take a breath of fresh air, nothing more complicated than that.


Beauty! This is the best shot I have of a whale, it was difficult to take photos.

Part 2 is coming, with more photos and more descriptions. Stay tuned ;)


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0