More Liverpool events

I've survived until my 4th day here, woohoo! I've gotten a little bit more familiar with the city, as I walked around half of it with some international students I met. Liverpool is quite an interesting city to look at, because it has such a contrast architecture-wise. There's a fine mixture of old, beautiful Victorian buildnings, and just generally old brick buildings, along with modern simple, colourful architecture. Although unfortunately, there are also quite a few old, yucky, cementy block buildings from the post-war period.

The people of the city are all rather friendly. I have become more used to people, men, women, old, young, calling me "Love". It's quite vomit-inducing if used by the wrong people, yet quite nice and warm if used by the right people. The people here seem to be typical examples of friendly small town people, although the city is pretty big, which is great. However, there seems to be a quite a lot of poverty here too, people who seem poor and uneducated are a common sight on the streets.

There have been two days with events for the international students, which I think is great, as many students have only just arrived without any idea what to expect. I have only met one international student who will also study medicine, I hope there are plenty more as I don't want to only be surrounded by British medics.

Talking about the British, yesterday night, there was a freaking house party in our kitchen. The Brits in my corridor seemed to have invited every other Brit living in the same building, especially girls dressed up like effing whores. They drank until about 6am in the morning. I managed to fall alseep sometime after midnight as I was tired, but then woke up a few times in the middle of the night. By about 6am, there was finally peace, it became sooo quiet and nice. However, the kitchen and stairs outside suffered considerable damage, as the kitchen currently looks like a warzone, and the anti-slide black patch on one of the stairs has been kicked off.

I don't have time to write more right now, as I'm meeting up with a few international students in a minute. Need to get dressed, so will write more next time!

Kommentarer
Postat av: David Cheung

Dear Madam,



I have come across your blog by accident, and i find fascinating your perspective on the city of Liverpool. It is a very good representation of the city. I would dearly like to know more. I am an international student, like you, and i grew up in Hong Kong. I studied at University of Liverpool, graduating last year. I now live in Manchester, working as an I:T consultant. How are you adjusting to live in the UK, if you need any help with settling into living in Liverpoo, don't hesitate to let me know.



fond regards,



David Cheung

2011-01-26 @ 16:29:42
URL: http://[email protected]

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0