Random musings

Just some random things I have been thinking about the past week:

Number 1:
I've been busy at my dad's laboratory in a hospital in Stockholm. He works as a medical researcher, and he does cancer research, specifically on telemorase, which is an enzyme, and its over-activity is involved in the genesis of cancer. Anyway, I have been granted the golden opportunity to do an experiment with him regarding this enzyme. We have been culturing and harvesting cancer cells donated by patients from the hospital. I've been telling this to lots of my friends already: I asked my dad if he knew any of these patients. He said he had no idea who they were, and that they are probably dead by now because of their cancers. After he said that, it felt unnatural and strange to be culturing cells of someone who had probably already passed away. I felt almost like I had no right to be swirling the cells in different solutions, pipetting them, and subjecting them to the different substances and machines I have been doing. However, whenever I felt like that, I would look around me, and all the other researchers would be doing similar things. That would make me feel calmer, like I won't be (or at least alone in being) haunted by these donors for the rest of my life. Or that I won't be doomed to hell for keeping parts of the donors. On the bright side, I have really learned a lot about the experiments and the machines and procedures, and it's been really interesting!

Number 2:
Next Monday, ie in 6 days, I will be on my way back to China! I miss my relatives, watermelons, cheap clothes, and I know I will regret this the moment I walk outside the airport, but I even miss the heat and the sun and the humidity! I'm going to be in China until early August. Hopefully, I'll get to tour within China this year, I wanna see some of the cultural and historical things of China before they're all torn down by the "modernisation". I also really hope to be able to go to Hong Kong to go shopping and eating (and least importantly, haha) finally see my boyfriend after another few months apart.

Number 3:
I met an old friend yesterday (old as in from my childhood, not as in age). She's always kept a diary, and for more than a year now, she's set her mind to write an entry every single day, regardless of whether it is many pages long or just a few sentences short. She types them up on the computer, which means that she can sort her entries so that the same days of different years are put next to each other. I think this is a brilliant and inspiring idea, because it would be so interesting to read later on in life, when you are older and wiser, how your thoughts or actions have differed from completely childish to immature to less immature throughout the years (well, hopefully it's in that order).


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0