People Who Make My Day #5

I haven't written one of these for ages, but today I encountered someone who totally deserves to be mentioned: Johnny! Johnny "helps with assembling, small DIY jobs, general hand, tip runs, light removals, courier, car hire & maintenance services" - what would his job title be? Handyman? Guy-who-fixes-everything-that-you-don't-want-to?

Anyway, a few days ago, the kitchen light suddenly stopped working, and of course my first instinct was to change the bulbs. But it turns out that it wasn't the bulbs' problems. I procrastinated calling anyone for help, but eventually I decided that I actually want some light while I cook. So I called Johnny, someone who had distributed a leaflet with that job description above and his contact details. He came around this evening, and he disassembled the light and switch, and after some mumbling to himself and fumbling around, he concluded it was the switch that was broken, the light was fine.

After assembling everything again, he took me through where to get a new switch, and how to install it, and some safety precautions. Apprently, if I touch the wires in the switch hole, it's quite lethal, so he helped me tape that hole up. And he was kind enough to inform me that if the two wires in the hole touch each other, it will blow up. Quite daunting. Then while he was leaving, I needed to pay him. On the phone he said he charges 25 pounds an hour. I gave him two 20 notes as I had no change, but he only took one note. I insisted on giving him 25, but he said I should keep one 20 to get the switch, hehe. As he walked out the door, he turned around and said that if I had any problems installing the switch, I can call him. Or if I have any other questions, I shouldn't hesitate to call him anytime, and also to let him know how I get on with that switch (maybe he just wants to make sure I don't get electrified or blown up into pieces). Five minutes after he left, the phone rang. It was Johnny, who told me to try the new swtich after attaching the wires before I screw it to the wall again, so that in case it doesn't work, I don't have to unscrew it from the wall - save me effort.

He totally made my day, putting so much effort into helping me with a stupid kitchen light. He did much more than his job entitled. I wish everyone would do that - to not only do what you're supposed to, but to take an extra step.

P.S. Regarding the Our future post, I told the BF I had a new pet suggestion. I want to have a baby kangaroo instead of one of our planned dogs. He is still hesitating and is a bit concerned that it is against the law. However, it is actually legal to have a kangaroo if you get the Australian Government's consent or something! They are freaking irresistable, look: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gFEB1VyvZEA

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0